It’s A BUSINESS

[heavy video=74e139193e3d5bab414a1d5ae65711e1&host=www.heavy.com&w=512&h=512]

Rick Klotz (FreshJive) puts it all into perspective for everyone starting a clothing line, a record company, or any business ventures PERIOD. No one cares about what statements you’re making unless it sells. At the end of the day, it’s a BUSINESS.
Adding to that fact, I think the whole ‘tee-shirt’ business as a whole has become highly saturated. This is known to be a DIY-Generation and it’s good to see everyone brushing off the corporate structures and creating their own paths, but at the end of the day, for every ‘one’ original brand, you see hordes of copy-cats and it’s really dragging the whole scene down when too many bandwagons jump into something they know nothing about. There’s only so many skulls-n’-bones and firearm designs you can come out with before it gets to the point of overkill. Yes, skulls and guns are very 2006. It’s to the point where I, personally, bite my tongue about even saying that I run a brand just so I can let my art pieces speak for themselves because it’s quite cliched NOW to say you own a ‘tee-shirt’ line.
I support everyone trying to pursue this business to promote their arts, but I will never endorse a company who’s eyes are solely focused on any financial gains rather than a cause. Sure, money is always good, but as with power — how will you use it?
I’ve conversed this with many people and I’ve made myself clear that this SKETCHPAD project is a ‘longevity’ experiment. Keeping our pieces exclusive and being nit-picky with the stores we sell to is a part of the whole mainstay of the company. I’d rather bearly break even now than bask in the temporary pleasures.
This goes hand-in-hand with any collaboration projects in which I hesitate on because even if it is something as simple as a tee-shirt, a relationship has to be formed so I would be comfortable enough to put the Sketchpad label on it. We are currently working with some other ventures, which I cannot name as of right now, but it is only because I personally agree that they have something wonderful to offer.
Although I do agree that no one cares about a statement that doesn’t sell, I do believe that if your statement has enough conviction and an artistic approach, the statement sells itself. So if you lack vision, imagination, education, and identity, please stop killing it for the rest of us who do this as ART.
No hard-feelings but at the end of the day, it’s ALL a BUSINESS.

–dinoxsketchpad

1 Response to “It’s A BUSINESS”


  1. 1 Gally June 26, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    your so right dino this is an art form and to many people are just focused on the money ive personally done it for the excitment of seening people wearing my product hey hit me up with your e-mail on myspace and ill send you my new line sheet i wanna get your input on it

    elated x sketchpad


Leave a Reply

