How The West Was Won

I found this to be very entertaining. This is what I’d label as CLASSIC! Kanye. I love the new direction he’s taken on with 808’s & Heartbreaks but I’m still not used to seeing the vulnerable Kanye. I’ve become so accustomed to seeing the arrogant, matter-of-fact, and over-zealous Kanye West that I would have never thought in a million years he’d release records with so much depression and doubts. I understand it’s been a tough year for him and kind’ve expected to hear the pain influence his craft a bit more, but I think we are all starting to miss the ‘College Dropout’.
I won’t go into a review of his latest release, but I will say that it’s the most criticized record for a reason — the LP is one of the most honest-hearted and soulful albums he’s ever released. People are expecting their favorite artists’ to fit into their mold but for him to go so far away from the box, it is always a risk. I know years from now, this album will be heralded as something greater.
So without further ado, I just wanted to share this clip of the Kanye we all know and love. This is not a clip of a new song he’s performing, but it’s a response to someone in the crowd who threw something at Kanye on the stage. Instead of doing what some rappers do and retaliate physically, Kanye put him, or them, on the spot and embarassed them the one way he knows how — lyrically.

Nothing is more powerful than to get cursed in a melody and on auto-tune.

–dinoxsketchpad

0 Responses to “How The West Was Won”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

