KINDLING

null

Man, I wish I was in New York for this event. James Jean is such an amazing artist and his vast catalogue of works have been so highly admired, he was hired to design for Prada a while back. When I feel a creative-block, I simply skim through his sketchbooks and it helps a lot. If you are around the area, I would highly recommend you pay him a visit at the exhibition. I can only hope he returns to California for an exhibition of these new works in the near future.

null
null
null

These are just a few of the many new paintings he’s exhibiting on Saturday, January 10th. If you’re anything like me, you’ve probably salivated your way through his extensive collection at least once already.

Where?
Jonathan LeVine Gallery
529 W. 20th St., 9E
New York, NY 10011

When?
Opening Reception on Saturday, January 10th @ 6-9PM

If you do make it out there, enjoy. Take a lot of pictures. And revel in the fact that I envy you.

–dinoxsketchpad

1 Response to “KINDLING”


  1. 1 Sara January 12, 2009 at 12:35 am

    I managed to go to his opening yesterday, and his works were nothing short of amazing. Seeing the works framed and under light was wonderful, though I shouldn’t be surprised that his paint strokes blend in with one another, so when you check them out they’re a little flat (media-wise). Preparatory sketches are there as well (I’ve got a thing for sketches), and two of his signed prints were still there available for purchase before I left.

    There was allegedly an after party, but I didn’t quite get that memo. I have a few pictures on my website (http://tinyurl.com/9p4b3k), or you can check them out on my flickr page (www.flickr.com/photos/saralugo). I’ll be adding more in the next few days. Check it out!


Leave a Reply

