The Wonders Of Nature

There’s a voting campaign going on right now that I find fascinating. No, there aren’t any negative ads or political promises you have to soak that ten-percent of your brain that you actually use in. What we’re all entitled to do here is chose the New Seven Wonders Of Nature. There are 261 nominees from different parts of the world and you get to pick your seven. There are many other things you can do on the website to show your support — like start a Committee, create a photo album to attract other voters to support your picks, and many more. The greatest thing about this whole project is that you can browse through each intriguing places and really get a hefty education in a small amount of time.

null

I won’t tell you my seven picks yet, because I want everyone to research on their own without my influence but I will say one of my top picks was the Singing Dunes in Kazakhstan. I’ll be honest, I didn’t know anything about this place before I skimmed through the different nominees, but I think I’ll be crazy enough to want to visit there. Here’s the factoid on it:

The Singing Dunes are in the Altyn-Emel State National Park, Kazakhstan’s largest national park. The crescent-shaped sand dunes, called barchans, produce a sound described as roaring, booming, squeaking, or simply as the “Song of the Dunes.” This low-pitch rumble, a natural sound phenomenon, can be as loud as 105 decibels and can last several minutes. The sound accompanies a slumping or avalanching movement of the sand, usually triggered by wind passing over the dune. Collisions between grains of sand emit surface elastic waves that, in turn, cause the motions of the grains to become synchronized. The surface of the sand acts as a loudspeaker, transmitting it through the air.

I spent a good hour and a half reading through different locations and I can’t believe how hooked I am onto this site. I loved the quote made by Bernard Weber, “If we want to save anything, we first need to truly appreciate it.” Very well versed and true in all aspect of our life and the habitat we’re surrounded with.

–dinoxsketchpad

0 Responses to “The Wonders Of Nature”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

