Be Like Mike

Saturday evening, I headed out to Mike Bilz’ show and met up with some friends there. I left the show pretty inspired by his “Word of the Day” artworks which littered the wall. The idea he had was basically to do a drawing or a small painting everyday to keep the creative juices flowing all year long. What’s even more cool is the fact that he makes his drawings coincide with each word in a calendar-pages, hence ‘Word of the Day’. Clever.I was so inspired that I’m actually picking up the routine in my own daily life now. Thanks Mike. The night rounded out to be a fairly awesome one as it’s been a little while since we all had the chance to hang out with each other.

null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null

Some other great art pieces showing at Alpha Cult:

null
null
null
N.C. Winters

null
Prince Of Cake

null
null
Bill McEvoy

There are a lot more great pieces at the shop that I’m too lazy to post. I recommend anyone around the area to drop by and see the works for yourself. I returned earlier today to purchase a couple of Mike’s works. Can’t wait to bring it home!

–dinoxsketchpad

2 Responses to “Be Like Mike”


  1. 1 loyalkng March 17, 2009 at 3:33 am

    Cool post man. Love this pictures you took too! I’m also glad I visited your blog just to read the first paragraph of this article. Really inspiration stuff, and also a great idea at that. I think I’ll sit down and force myself to create something everyday also. Definitely have to keep up the creativity.

  2. 2 Mike Bilz March 17, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Hey Dino,

    Thanks so much for the write up. I’m stoked you like the show, and its awesome to see people getting inspired by my work. I hope this will get a few people down to Alpha Cult to check out the show, and the store itself. Thanks again, and good luck with the blog!

    -mike


Leave a Reply

